Goodgame Studios forum archives

Forum: bigfarm-en
Board: [1169] The Games Lounge
Topic: [31970] Riddles

[845416] Smurf8 [None] :: June 2, 2015, 2:19 p.m.
Woo and indeed hoo! Well done abc0300. You're next up :)

[845419] RunsWivScissors (GB1) [GB1] :: June 2, 2015, 2:44 p.m.
hmm.... How does that not break the third rule? ... Pirate #5 shouldn`t have accepted 1 8|

But 3 & 4 would...

#1 = 98
#2 = 0
#3 = 1
#4 = 1
#5 = 0

#5 should just push em all overbaord & keep 100 himself. :thumbsup:

[845435] Smurf8 [None] :: June 2, 2015, 3:23 p.m.
They don't all need to agree, The senior pirate only needs two votes plus his own. Here's the full solution:

The oldest pirate will propose a 98 : 0 : 1 : 0 : 1 split, in other words the oldest pirate gets 98 coins, the middle pirate gets 1 coin and the youngest gets 1 coin.

Let us name the pirates (from oldest to youngest): Alex, Billy, Colin, Duncan and Eddie.

Working backwards:

2 Pirates: Duncan splits the coins 100 : 0 (giving himself all the gold). His vote (50%) is enough to ensure the deal.

3 Pirates: Colin splits the coins 99 : 0 : 1. Eddie will accept this deal (getting just 1 coin), because he knows that if he rejects the deal there will be only two pirates left, and he gets nothing.

4 Pirates: Billy splits the coins 99 : 0 : 1 : 0. By the same reasoning as before, Duncan will support this deal. Billy would not waste a spare coin on Colin, because Colin knows that if he rejects the proposal, he will pocket 99 coins once Billy is thrown overboard. Billy would also not give a coin to Eddie, because Eddie knows that if he rejects the proposal, he will receive a coin from Colin in the next round anyway.

5 Pirates: Alex splits the coins 98 : 0 : 1 : 0 : 1. By offering a gold coin to Colin (who would otherwise get nothing) he is assured of a deal.

(Note: In the final deal Alex would not give a coin to Billy, who knows he can pocket 99 coins if he votes against Alex's proposal and Alex goes overboard. Likewise, Alex would not give a coin to Duncan, because Duncan knows that if he votes against the proposal, Alex will be voted overboard and Billy will propose to offer Duncan the same single coin as Alex. All else equal, Duncan would rather see Alex go overboard and collect his one coin from Billy.)

[845438] RunsWivScissors (GB1) [GB1] :: June 2, 2015, 3:42 p.m.
Pah... I went wrong on pirate #2, that why I couldn`t get pirate #1 right *facepalms*

*calls police & gets all the thieving pirates arrested* mwahahaha that`ll teach em! smiley-laughing021.gif


Good one Smurf! :thumbup:

[845439] Smurf8 [None] :: June 2, 2015, 3:49 p.m.
#5 should just push em all overbaord & keep 100 himself. :thumbsup:

This was my preferred solution. Pirates just aren't piratey enough these days ^^

[845669] abc0300 (US1) [None] :: June 4, 2015, 12:31 a.m.
Yeah!!! Okay. In a one-story pink house, there was a pink person, a pink cat, a pink fish, a pink computer, a pink chair, a pink table, a pink telephone, a pink shower– everything was pink! What color were the stairs?

[845672] Smurf8 [None] :: June 4, 2015, 12:35 a.m.
Haha, if it's a one story house there would be no stairs!

[FONT=Droid Sans, sans-serif]So, if your ever so-very pink house was made out of pink bricks, and a yellow house is made out of yellow bricks, what is a greenhouse made out of?[/FONT]

[845676] abc0300 (US1) [None] :: June 4, 2015, 12:40 a.m.
Glass, because the green and house are one word so it's not a house that's green.

[845677] Smurf8 [None] :: June 4, 2015, 12:43 a.m.
Ok Smarty pants, you are up again! :D

[845678] abc0300 (US1) [None] :: June 4, 2015, 12:47 a.m.
I don't know if you really consider this a riddle but......

Fill in the board using the numbers 1-9 so that if you add it up vertically, diagonally, and horizontally, it will always equal 15.

Notes:You can only use each number once.

_|_|_
_|_|_
e|e|

[845685] Yakoska (US1) [None] :: June 4, 2015, 1:43 a.m.
Well there are several answers, depending where you put the 1, but:

1/5/9
6/7/2
8/3/4

Several friends are playing Monopoly by the standard rules. At the end of the second turn, one man lands on a property, declares he will buy it, and several houses for his monopoly, then ends his turn. He has bought every property he could, and has only the monopoly. In addition, he never paid another player, never passed go, and never went to jail. What did he roll on each of his turns to make this possible?

Hint: There is one answer, with two variations.

[845701] Mina0o (INT1) [None] :: June 4, 2015, 7:02 a.m.
I don't really understand what you mean with "his monopoly", Yakoska :/
Are you talking about getting all the properties in a set?

[845721] RunsWivScissors (GB1) [GB1] :: June 4, 2015, 8:12 a.m.
1st turn:
Double 5 (visiting jail)
Double 5 (Free parking)
Double 1 (chance)
6+5 (community chest)

2nd turn:
Double 2 - Park lane (Buys it)
Double 1 - Mayfair (Buys it)

Hmmm I seem to have stuffed up, because it would still be his turn :S

I think there is a card to advance to Mayfair, but then he can`t get back to buy Park lane lol

EDIT: OK new plan.......

1st turn:
2+1 = Whitechapel Road (Buys it)

2nd turn:
Double 2 - Chance
6+4 - Community Chest= Go Back to Old Kent Road (Buys it)

[845747] Yakoska (US1) [None] :: June 4, 2015, 10:03 a.m.
Correct:

1st turn:
Double 5 (visiting jail)

Wrong:
Everything else :)

You go to jail if you roll doubles 3 times in a row (otherwise this would be possible in 1 turn)
When a card says "Advance to" a property it also says "If you pass go collect 200 dollars" there is no, "return to" a property card I know of. The exception being "Go to Jail" where you go directly without passing go.

Mina: Yes, I mean a complete set of properties, such that you can build houses (and then hotels)

[845758] RunsWivScissors (GB1) [GB1] :: June 4, 2015, 10:37 a.m.
Ooops forgot about the 3 doubles rule..... So was my 2nd one right?

1st turn:
2+1 = Whitechapel Road (Buys it)
2nd turn:
Double 2 - Chance
6+4 - Community Chest= Go Back to Old Kent Road (Buys it)

Only one double rolled & there most definately is a "Go back to Old Kent Road" Community Chest card.

Community%20Chest_zpsvh8qfvc0.jpg

I think they are called Mediterranean Avenue & Baltic Avenue on the US version.

[845763] Yakoska (US1) [None] :: June 4, 2015, 11:10 a.m.
I guess there is, in your version. There is no "Go Back to X" in the US version. I am not facile enough with graphics, but all the US cards are written "Advance to X". And additionally there is no "Advance to Baltic" card either. But I'll waive my 'standard' rules requirement as there doesn't appear to be such a creature.

Here is the US version:

Turn 1:
Roll double 5s. Land on Just Visiting Jail.
Roll a 6 without doubles (hence the variations) 1-5, or 2-4 Work. Land on St James place (first orange.) Buy it.

Turn 2:
roll double 1s. Land on Tennessee Ave (2nd orange spot) Buy it.
roll a four without doubles: 1-3. Land on Chance. Draw the "Go back 3 spaces" card. Land on New York Ave (3rd Orange spot) buy it, and houses. Turn ends.

Go ahead and post a riddle, Runs.

-Y

[845773] RunsWivScissors (GB1) [GB1] :: June 4, 2015, 12:59 p.m.
Good one!...Same principal with the go back 3 spaces, cool :thumbsup:
I checked the american cards & you have 2 about railroads that we don`t have, so we must have another one thats different .... Who knew we all had different Monopoly hehe

What does this say?
ISSUES ISSUES
ISSUES ISSUES
ISSUES ISSUES
ISSUES ISSUES
ISSUES ISSUES

[845849] Yakoska (US1) [None] :: June 4, 2015, 11:56 p.m.
That you have lots of issues? :)

That you are ten T's short of a box of tissues?

-Y

[845856] abc0300 (US1) [None] :: June 5, 2015, 12:41 a.m.
Yakoska wrote: »
Well there are several answers, depending where you put the 1, but:

1/5/9
6/7/2
8/3/4

Several friends are playing Monopoly by the standard rules. At the end of the second turn, one man lands on a property, declares he will buy it, and several houses for his monopoly, then ends his turn. He has bought every property he could, and has only the monopoly. In addition, he never paid another player, never passed go, and never went to jail. What did he roll on each of his turns to make this possible?

Hint: There is one answer, with two variations.

Well, you did this wrong. It doesn't add up to 15 diagonally.

[845862] Yakoska (US1) [None] :: June 5, 2015, 12:53 a.m.
abc0300 wrote: »
Well, you did this wrong. It doesn't add up to 15 diagonally.

Opps, missed that requirement, that does indeed for the 1 placement.

5/9/1
7/2/6
3/4/8

Better?